Chiltern League – Match 3 23/24 Season
December 9, 2023
Bucks XC Championships 2024
January 15, 2024
Show all


2023 saw the return of the Vale of Aylesbury AC hosted Boxing Day road races around Aylesbury town centre. The wind had stilled and with no rain on the forecast the scene was set for the first Aylesbury Boxing Day road races since 2019.

The event started with the junior race which consisted of 2 laps around Market Square and Kingsbury Square. The race was won by VOAAC’s Luca Dolan with second going to Alexander Kirk (unattached) and third going to Peter Cheung (VOAAC). On the girls side it was a sprint to the line between first and second with Emily Norris (Wycombe Phoenix) just pipping Shona Esslemont (VOAAC) to the line for first, third place went to Erin Miller (unattached). Lily Sexton was the Vale’s other representative finishing in 11th place. A special thank you to Kieran Lindars for haring the race.

After the junior race the main race kicked off with one lap of market square before running 2 laps around Aylesbury town center. From the start of the race two men pulled away from the rest of the field and would challenge each other all the way through the race but (after haring the junior race only 30 minutes before) it was Kieran Lindars (VOAAC) who took the win in a time of 15:58. After sticking with Kieran for almost all of the race it was Matthew Dicks (Marshall Milton Keynes) who finished second and Thomas Halling (Bristol and West AC) who took third. On the females side Alice Wright (Sale Harriers Manchester) took the win in a time of 17:47 with Antonia Jubb (St Albans AC) in second and U17 Thea Gray (Dacorum) in third. We had lots of Vale athletes running and they were: William Ralston (8th), Euan Anderson (10th), Jamie Pugh (12th), Archie Lynch (14th), Emile Jansen Van Rensburg (24th), Alice Rolfe (25th), Ben Riley (32nd), Andrew Rolt (33rd), Emily Owen (34th), Zachary Honour (39th), Digby Martin (42nd), Marcus Maxwell (51st), Joe Mercer (54th), Mark Fallaize (56th), Sarah Pearse (57th), Gabriella Cheung (58th), Rosanna Iannone (62nd), Rhys Williams (69th), Alan Roberts (77th), Amanda Esslemont (89th), Becky Lee (99th), Andrew Stephenson (100th), Iona Esslemont (110th), Anna Cuthbert (130th), Sue Barnes (145th), Jayne Littlejohn (164th), Caroline Frontier (168th), Poppy Haynes (173rd), Hannah Welsh (174th), Terry Gadsby (180th), Pat Card (187th) and Anushri Joshi (197th).

Overall it was a brilliant turn out for both races and we had some great results within the club. A massive thank you to all of the athletes, parents and spectators who turned up to run and support the athletes. An even bigger thank you to all of the volunteers who set up the course, were marshalls, helped with entries and helped run and organise the event. It wouldn’t have been possible without these people so a massive thank you to everyone who helped out on the day.




  • 1st male: Kieran Lindars – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • 2nd male: Matthew Dicks – Marshall Milton Keynes AC
  • 3rd male: Thomas Halling –  Bristol and West AC
  • First VOAAC male: Kieran Lindars
  • Male vet 60+: Jim Buttleman – Leighton Fun Runners
  • Male vet 50: Richard Gould – Alchester Running Club
  • Male vet 40: Mark Westall – Lonely Goat RC
  • Male U17: Emile Jansen Van Rensburg – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • Male U13: Zachary Honour – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • 1st Junior race male: Luca Dolan – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • Graham Gorman male award: Emile Jansen Van Rensburg



  • 1st female: Alice Wright – Sales Harriers Manchester
  • 2nd female: Antonia Jubb – St Albans AC
  • 3rd female: Thea Gray – Dacorum Athletic Club
  • First VOAAC female: Alice Rolfe
  • Female vet 55+: Paula Robinson – Bearbrook Running Club
  • Female vet 45: Lisa Hogger – Oxford City AC
  • Female vet 35: Sarah Pearse – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • Female U17: Iona Esslemont – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • Female U15: Poppy Haynes – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • Female U13: Gabriella Cheung – Vale of Aylesbury AC
  • 1st junior race female: Emily Norris – Wycombe Phoenix Harriers & AC
  • Graham Gorman female award: Gabriella Cheung

Comments are closed.